For Admission Information 2018-19 - Click here


For any Admission related queries please contact at 03473-223259
Mon-Friday, 11:00 a.m. to 05:00 p.m.
 
Highlights
Weather Forecast & Agro-Advisory
Weekly forecast & advices
News Letter & Annual Progress Report
 
 
Untitled Document
  Home About Us Announcements Contact Us Admission
Genetics & Plant Breeding

Visions of the Genetics are learning (enhancing access to quality education), discovery (expanding knowledge through research) and engagement (collaborating with diverse institution, communities and people to improve live). Important research and technology developed by the departmental scientists and out put which has been used in the commercial application are: a) three photoperiod sensitive varieties of capsularis jute b) one olitorius jute variety c) one tomato variety by mutation breeding d) two rice bean varieties and e) one US patent pending on ‘Methods and composition for expressing multiple genes in plants by alternate splicing of a polycistronic message’. Major areas of research activities of our faculty members are on in vitro culture of tea, medicinal and aromatic plants for rapid micro-propagation and high secondary metabolites, identification of molecular markers linked with biotic and abiotic stress tolerant gene in greengram, blackgram, chilly etc., marker assisted breeding in rice and rice bean, genetics of plant –microbes interaction (specially of Phytophthora) and plant para- retro virus promoters. This subject is having eight seats for master degree in each year and four to five seats for doctoral programme at a time.
The subject Plant Breeding offers one compulsory and four advance courses to selected students in Under Graduate classes. Post Graduate courses are offered to M.Sc. (Ag.) and Ph.D.. Out of PG programme, a good number of students conducted research in areas of breeding. Teachers of the Department are engaged in different ICAR and W.B. Govt. aided research projects as well as their own research activities including development of suitable baby corn, sweet corn and green maize lines and production technology, aromatic rice, forage corps, oil seed and pulses.

Sl.No Name Designation                      
E-mail Mobile
1. Dr. Subhra Mukherjee Professor and Head subhrabckv@rediffmail.com
mukherjee.subhra@bckv.edu.in
 09434168936
2. Dr. Bijoy Kumar Senapati
Professor  bksbckv@yahoo.in
senapati.bijoy.kr@bckv.edu.in
 09433841648
3. Dr. Somnath Bhattacharya Professor  somnathbhat@yahoo.com
bhattacharya.somnath@bckv.edu.in
 09433556387
4. Dr. Raghunath Sadhukhan Professor  drsadhukhan@gmail.com
sadhukhan.raghunath@bckv.edu.in
 09874940816
5. Prof. Chandan Bhattacharya Professor  bhattacharya.c.bckv@gmail.com
bhattacharya.chandan@bckv.edu.in
 
6. Dr. Prabir kumar Bhattacharyya Associate Professor bhattacharyya.pk@gmail.com
bhattacharyya.prabir@bckv.edu.in
09433242858
7. Dr. Anita Aich Associate Professor royanita1925@gmail.com
aich.anita@bckv.edu.in
09434657055
8. Dr. Gouranga Sundar Mandal Assistant Professor mandal.gouranga@gmail.com
mandal.gouranga.sundar@bckv.edu.in
09851932206
9. Dr. Sutanu Sarkar Assistant Professor sutanumax@gmail.com
sutanu@bckv.edu.in
09883084507
10. Dr. Joydeep Banerjee Assistant Professor  jbanerjeebiotech@gmail.com
banerjee.joydeep@bckv.edu.in
08276914432
11. Dr. Sujaya Dewanjee Assistant Professor sujaya2009@gmail.com
dewanjee.sujaya@bckv.edu.in
09432089738
12. Dr. Arpita Das Assistant Professor arpitacoh@gmail.com
das.arpita@bckv.edu.in
08902186237
13. Dr. Swarupananda Mondal Assistant Professor snmandaledu@gmail.com
mondal.swarupananda@bckv.edu.in
09467167586
14. Dr. Subhasis Samanta Assistant Professor subhasis.smnt@gmail.com
samanta.subhasis@bckv.edu.in
09560566420
15. Dr. Anirban Maji Assistant Professor anigpbr@gmail.com
maji.anirban@bckv.edu.in
09432579627
16. Dr. Saikat Gantait Assistant Professor saikatgantait@yahoo.com
gantait.saikat@bckv.edu.in
8337076385
17. Dr. Debashis Saren Assistant Professor dsaren2016@gmail.com
saren.debashis@bckv.edu.in
09933172212
18. Dr. Tirthankar Biswas Assistant Professor biswasgpb@gmail.com
biswas.tirthankar@bckv.edu.in
8768321559
   
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     

Untitled Document