For Admission Information 2021-22 - Click here

For any Admission related queries please contact : 6289943669
Mon-Friday 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Weather Forecast & Agro advisory
Weekly forecast & advices

 Since 28.11.2017 
Untitled Document
  Home About Us Announcements Contact Us Admission
Genetics & Plant Breeding

Visions of the Genetics are learning (enhancing access to quality education), discovery (expanding knowledge through research) and engagement (collaborating with diverse institution, communities and people to improve live). Important research and technology developed by the departmental scientists and out put which has been used in the commercial application are: a) three photoperiod sensitive varieties of capsularis jute b) one olitorius jute variety c) one tomato variety by mutation breeding d) two rice bean varieties and e) one US patent pending on ‘Methods and composition for expressing multiple genes in plants by alternate splicing of a polycistronic message’. Major areas of research activities of our faculty members are on in vitro culture of tea, medicinal and aromatic plants for rapid micro-propagation and high secondary metabolites, identification of molecular markers linked with biotic and abiotic stress tolerant gene in greengram, blackgram, chilly etc., marker assisted breeding in rice and rice bean, genetics of plant –microbes interaction (specially of Phytophthora) and plant para- retro virus promoters. This subject is having eight seats for master degree in each year and four to five seats for doctoral programme at a time.
The subject Plant Breeding offers one compulsory and four advance courses to selected students in Under Graduate classes. Post Graduate courses are offered to M.Sc. (Ag.) and Ph.D.. Out of PG programme, a good number of students conducted research in areas of breeding. Teachers of the Department are engaged in different ICAR and W.B. Govt. aided research projects as well as their own research activities including development of suitable baby corn, sweet corn and green maize lines and production technology, aromatic rice, forage corps, oil seed and pulses.

Sl.No Name Designation                      
E-mail Mobile
1. Dr. Subhra Mukherjee Professor and Head
Secretary Faculty Council
[email protected]
[email protected]
2. Dr. Bijoy Kumar Senapati
Professor  [email protected]
[email protected]
3. Dr. Somnath Bhattacharya Professor  [email protected]
[email protected]
4. Dr. Raghunath Sadhukhan Professor  [email protected]
[email protected]
5. Prof. Chandan Bhattacharya Professor  [email protected]
[email protected]
6. Dr. Prabir kumar Bhattacharyya Associate Professor [email protected]
[email protected]
7. Dr. Anita Aich Associate Professor [email protected]
[email protected]
8. Dr. Gouranga Sundar Mandal Assistant Professor [email protected]
[email protected]
9. Dr. Sutanu Sarkar Assistant Professor [email protected]
[email protected]
10. Dr. Joydeep Banerjee Assistant Professor  [email protected]
[email protected]
11. Dr. Sujaya Dewanjee Assistant Professor [email protected]
[email protected]
12. Dr. Arpita Das Assistant Professor [email protected]
[email protected]
13. Dr. Swarupananda Mondal Assistant Professor [email protected]
[email protected]
14. Dr. Subhasis Samanta Assistant Professor [email protected]
[email protected]
15. Dr. Anirban Maji Assistant Professor [email protected]
[email protected]
16. Dr. Saikat Gantait Assistant Professor [email protected]
[email protected]
17. Dr. Debashis Saren Assistant Professor [email protected]
[email protected]
18. Dr. Tirthankar Biswas Assistant Professor [email protected]
[email protected]