Territorial Jurisdiction


At present operational jurisdiction of BCKV is vested over eleven rural districts of the southern part of the state *viz. *Murshidabad, Nadia,North 24-Parganas , South 24-Parganas , Howrah, Hooghly, Burdwan, Birbhum, Purulia, Paschim Medinipur and Purba Medinipur.

The operational area of the University is spread over four agro-climatic zones:
(i) Red & laterite zone  (RLZ)
(ii) Coastal saline zone (CSZ)
(iii) Old alluvial zone    (OAZ)
(iv) New-alluvial zone  (NAZ)

In terms of its present responsibilities, the University is steadily, and progressively, striding ahead on its defined areas of responsibility in the frontiers of academic, research and outreach education programme.

Apart from its 3 teaching faculties with 25 departments therein, the Directorate of Research spearheads its functional activities through 3 Regional Research Stations (RSS), 3 Regional Research Sub-stations (RRSS), 21 AICRPs and 3 AINPs.

The Extension Directorate is flanked with four Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs), eight Extension Education Units, one excellently equipped Farmers’ Training Centre, the FACC, Farm Information and Publication Unit, and a separate Exhibition Unit.

In the recent past, the university has established two extended campuses as collage of Agriculture at Burdwan (in 2014) and at Bankura (in 2015) for teaching undergraduate studies in Agriculture.